East County Sports

Shrum wins Gwynn Award as MWC’s best

Former Granite Hills star Dillan Shrum.



From staff and wire reports
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. —- Following an injury-plagued collegiate career, the senior year for former Granite Hills High standout Dillan Shrum couldn’t have gone better. And he was rewarded for it.

On June 3, Schrum, a first baseman for Nevada, was given the Tony Gwynn Award as the baseball player of the year in the Mountain West Conference.

In addition, Schrum’s head coach T.J. Brune gained his second career MWC coach of the year award, guiding the Wolf Pack to a third conference championship and an automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals.

Shrum is the third Wolf Pack player to earn Tony Gwynn Award honors and the first since Grant Fennell in 2018. The native of El Cajon batted .550 in just 22 games of conference play, leading the league with 12 home runs and tied for fifth with 36 RBIs.

Shrum finished the regular season with 10 multi-RBI games.

In the summer of 2014, the MWC head coaches voted to name the Conference’s Player of the Year trophy in honor of the late San Diego State head coach, Tony Gwynn — a Baseball Hall of Fame player for the San Diego Padres.

Backed by Shrum, Nevada posted a 15-game conference win streak, which tied for the longest streak nationally. The Wolf Pack earned the No. 3 seed in the Stanford Regional, which began on Friday, June 4, although the Wolf Pack were eliminated with consecutive losses.

Several players from San Diego State were also recognized, including first-team selections junior outfielder Matt Rudick and sophomore catcher Wyatt Henden.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *