East County Sports

Chambers starts with no-hitter, homer


East County Sports staff report

EL CAJON (3-2-2019) – After Staci Chambers equaled a school record by slugging 8 home runs for Granite Hills High last season, every indication held the senior seemed poised to challenge the East County single-season record of 13 when she belted a pair of homers in an exhibition game against San Diego-High Tech High.

In the official Eagles season opener Friday (Mar. 1), the anticipation about Chambers proved valid. after the senior drilled her 10th career homer en route to a 6-0 triumph over visiting El Capitan

Oh, by the way, Chambers also fired a no-hitter to vanquish the Vaqueros
Chambers registered 14 strikeouts in her dominating performance, with the lone baserunners for the Vaqs coming on three walks.

The only chance El Cap had to score on Chambers came in the 3rd inning when third baseman Katy Hicks accepted a leadoff walk on a close 3-2 pitch to ruin Chambers’ bid for a perfect game.

Hicks advanced to third base of intentional ground balls to the right side by right fielder Broklynn Fukashima and catcher Kiki Angles. However, Chambers escaped on a strikeout.

Granite Hills tallied single runs in the 1st and 2nd before Chambers capped a 4-run outburst in the 5th with a 3-run bomb to center field.

The first run saw Baily Wallace and Chambers both singled, then an error in the outfield allowed Wallace to trot home. An inning later, first baseman Sydney Huse doubled to center, eventually scoring on a clutch, two-out single by No. 9 hitter Morgan Kelly.

Among the Eagles’ 8 hits, Huse collected three of them, while Chambers had two.

Chambers follows a long time of former Granite Hills standouts who excel both in the pitching circle and at the plate.  Included (but not limited to) are Halle Kyler (2014 freshman of the year), Jenny Lahitte (2008 pitcher of the year, 2010 player of the year) and Jennifer Boauloye (1986 player of the year).

A sample of other top pitching/hitting Eagles from the past include Rachel Kelly (2001-02), Sheri Spatz (1083-84), and Robyn Reid (1982).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *