East County Sports

Prep Football Notes: Spanos Game, All-CIF



Spanos Classic

ECS staff report

MIRA MESA — While Granite Hills High was busy capturing the CIF Division 2-A state championship in Mission Viejo, the 32nd annual Alex Spanos All-Star Classic was conducted that night (Sat., Dec. 10) at Mira Mesa High.

The South, which included players from East County and the Grossmont Conference, surged to a 13-7 second-quarter lead. However, the defense for the North tossed a second-half shutout en route to a 29-13 verdict.

South MVP Austin Cordeiro, of El Capitan, is congratulated by South coach Sean McDade.

Rancho Buena Vista High quarterback Connor Underhill directed the North to 22 unanswered points for the victory, including a 2-yard touchdown run.

The score came one possession after Del Norte kicker Mateen Bhaglani booted a go-ahead, 46-yard field goal early in the second half.

In the first half, after the North took a 7-0 lead, the South got even on a fourth-down play.

Helix receiver Quincy Gerron raced to the left corner of the end zone, hauling in a 7-yard TD pass from Madison quarterback Reggie Johnson. The pass reception capped an 11-play, 74-yard scoring drive.

Moments later, two plays following an interception, Kal-El Gordon of El Cajon Valley posted a tie-breaking score with a dazzling run, skipping around several tacklers on a 21-yard burst along the left sideline.

Among East County players, defensive back Austin Cordeiro of El Capitan was voted the MVP for the South.

Cordeiro, a first-team, all-East County performer, registered an interception and was among the leading tacklers.

Ron Burner, the head coach at El Cap, was also the coach for the South.

Helix senior Quincy Herron


32nd annual Alex Spanos All-Star Classic
(At Mira Mesa HS)
North Stars..... 7  6 10 6 — 29
South Stars.... .0 13  0 0 — 13

North — McClintic 1 run (Bhaglani kick)
South — Herron 7 pass from Johnson (Haley kick)
South — Gordon 21 run (kick failed)
North — Snyder 3 run (kick failed)
North — FG Bhaglani 46
North — Underhill 2 run (Bhaglani kick)
North — Williams 31 run (pass failed)

Can you help?

Sadly, a few days following the Spanos Classic, Cordeiro’s mother and her boyfriend were seriously injured in a motorcycle accident.

A GoFundMe page has been established to assist with hospital expenses. Information: HERE.

The goal is to raise $10,000. AS OF DEC. 28th, the fund is approaching the halfway point.

2022 All-CIFSDS

ECS staff report

COLLGE GROVE — Roderick Robinson from CIF state champion Lincoln (Division 1-AA) and Hornets teammate Josiah Cox were named the CIF-San Diego Section players of the year in football.

Robinson was tabbed the top performer on offense after running for 2,378 yards and 37 TDs on just 217 rushes. The Georgia commit averaged 11.0 yards per carry and was also tabbed State Player of the Year by MaxPreps.

Meanwhile, Cox was deemed the best on defense, leading the Hornets to an overall record of 13-1, closing the season on a 12-game win streak following a setback to a non-section opponent.

Grossmont Conference performers featured Robert Petrich of Granite Hills as the Kicker of the Year.

On offense, first-team selections were:

  • RB – Major Givens, Steele Canyon, Sr.
  • OL – Alejandro Tejada, Granite Hills, Sr.

On defense, the first-team selections were:

  • DL – Moshi Tilea, Granite Hills, Sr.
  • DB – Jordan Glaze, Granite Hills, Jr.
  • DB – Easton Peterson, Granite Hills, Sr.

In addition, Kellan Cobbs was named the section’s Coach of the Year after leading Granite Hills to its first state championship and the Eagles’ first CIFSDS crown advancing the title game for the first time in 43 seasons.

The honorees were selected from a composite group of coaches and the media under the auspices of CIFSDS officials at its postseason meeting.

Offensive Player of the Year
Roderick Robinson, Lincoln

Name, School, Yr.
Julian Sayin, Carlsbad, Jr.
Dominic Nankil, Mater Dei Catholic, Sr.
Running backs
Roderick Robinson, Lincoln, Sr.
Major Givens, Steele Canyon, Sr.
Conner Rath, Poway, Sr.
Chris Williams, Francis Parker, Sr.
Jerry McClure, Mater Dei Catholic, Sr.
Justin Johnson, Carlsbad, Sr.
Jake Jackson, Madison, Sr.
Tight end
Zack Marshall, Carlsbad, Sr.

Jonah Rodriguez, Madison, Sr.
Alejandro Tejada, Granite Hills, Sr.
Finn O’Gorman, Carlsbad, Sr.
Charles Hines, Lincoln, Sr.
Andrew Myers, Poway, Sr.

Name, School, Yr.
KJ Chatham, Lincoln, Sr.
Samuel Cooper, University City, Sr.
Running backs
Makei Thompson, Mira Mesa, Sr.
Damarion Wright, Morse, Sr.
Markus Macon, Palo Verde Valley, Sr.
Life Pollard, Classical Academy, Sr.
Santiago Salas, Mission Hills, Sr.
Corey Thompson-Miller, Lincoln, Sr.
Surahz Buncom, Mater Dei Catholic, Sr.
Matthew Staycer, Torrey Pines, Sr.
Talon Beltran, Mater Dei Catholic, Sr.
Josh Glanz, Eastlake, Jr.
Misael Sandoval, St. Augustine, Sr.
Genesis Seumalo, El Camino, Sr.

Kicker of the Year: Robert Petrich, Granite Hills, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year
Josiah Cox, Lincoln

Name, School, Yr.
Cassius Murphy, Carlsbad, Sr.
Makhai Viavia, Madison, Jr.
Jon Class, Mission Hills, Sr.
Moshi Tilea, Granite Hills, Sr.
Jake Janikowski, Cathedral Catholic, Sr.
James Tivao, Madison, Jr.
DJ Peevy, Lincoln, Sr.
Tre Edwards, Mater Dei Catholic, Sr.
Madden Faraimo, Cathedral Catholic, So.
Chase Lowary, Point Loma, Sr.
Josiah Cox, Lincoln, Sr.
Jamil Kassab, Ramona, Jr.
Jordan Glaze, Granite Hills, Jr.
Easton Peterson, Granite Hills, Sr.
Chris Snyder, Mater Dei, Sr.

Name, School, Yr.
Ratumana Bulabalavu, Army-Navy, Jr.
Cayden Dawson, University City, Sr.
Andrew Batalla, San Pasqual, Sr.
Damarrion White, Granite Hills, Jr.
Andy Devine, Mission Hills, Sr.
Victory Johnson, Cathedral Catholic, Sr.
Berrot Rankin, Madison, Sr.
Thomas McCormick, Carlsbad, Jr.
DJ Overstreet, Mater Dei Catholic, Sr.
Makai Herrero, Poway, Sr.
Jaylon Brown, Madison, Sr.
Adrian Chargualaf, Lincoln, Sr.
Jerome Roberts, Lincoln, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Kellan Cobbs, Granite Hills

Starr resigns

SPRING VALLEY — Mount Miguel will have a new head football coach in 2023 following the resignation of Troy Starr.

Starr was 18-27 in five years at Mount Miguel, including 4-7 this season.

Star was the head coach at Helix for eight seasons, leading the Highlanders to the CIF playoff semifinals in the Open or Division I in all eight campaigns, including a State Division II title in 2011.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *