East County Sports

Hillers Alumni Game honors Shon Boney



By Nick Pellegrino
ECS Senior Writer

SShon Boney  (1968-2021)  OBIT

FLETCHER HILLS – The first official act by new Grossmont High baseball coach Nick Guerra honored former Foothillers standout Shon Boney during ceremonies prior to the annual alumni game, held Saturday (Dec. 16) at Gizoni Field.

Boney, an all-East County and all-GrossmontNorth League selection in 1986, passed away in 2022 due to brian cancer. He was remembered for more than his standout .460 batting average as a senior or his tight infield defense before he moved on to UCLA.

For his contribution to the program, the clubhouse was named in honor of Boney. The facility is part of improvement projects at the historic ballpark.

“”Naming the clubhouse for Shon was the right thing to do,” said Guerra, who has spent more than a decade operating the San Diego Hustle club program following his own standout career with the San Diego Stars semipro ballclub. “It’s part of several improvement being completed on the field.”

Included new fencing, including the famous short porch in right field, which will list all of the Foothillers’ CIF championship seasons, plus a list of players that reached Major League Baseball.

Meanwhile, in a pair of alumni contests, 2023 frad River Diaz De Leon delivereda home run in the seconc contest. He was among the school’s batting leaders for three seasons; he will play for San Francisco State this spring.

Meanwhile, Boney’s entire family, including parents Stan and Penny, were in attendance. They recalled Shon’s .460 batting average as a senior.

List of Hillers who played in the Majors (incompplete)


Pos Player School Year (Stats)
P Mike Hook, Santana, 12 (8-0, 1.87)
P Bill Reed, Santana, 11 (6-0, 1.94)
C Jeff Gay, Santana, 12 (.543)
1B Tom Kolinek, Santana, 12 (.449)
INF Shon Boney, Grossmont, 12 (.460)
INF Dale Henson, Santana, 12 (.476)
INF Jason Stewart, Mount Miguel, 12 (.378)
OF Donnie Angotti, Grossmont, 12 (.491)
OF Donnie Carroll, Granite Hills, 11 (.434)
UTL Ted Gilmore, Valhalla, 12 (.438)
UTL Dan Nerat, Granite Hills, 12 (.458)

Player of the Year: Jeff Gay, Santana
Coach of the Year: John Marlow, Valhalla

P Rob Sharp, Valhalla, 12 (4-1, 2.19)
P Mike Raskind, Granite Hills, 10 (3-0, 1.34)
C Jason DeGroote, Granite Hills, 11 (.388)
1B Carlos Gutierrez, El Capitan, 10 (.422)
INF Bruce McClendon, Mount Miguel, 12 (.415)
INF Scott Dennison, Valhalla, 12 (.302)
INF Todd Parker, Granite Hills, 12 (.339)
OF Donnie Young, Mount Miguerl, 12 (.396)
OF Kenny Todd, Santana, 12 (.318)
OF Nick Moramarco, Helix, 12 (.357)
UTL Joey Kaewpalug, El Cajon Valley, 12 (.294)
UTL Joe Crisci, Valhalla, 11 (.271)