East County Sports

15 inlanders tabbed All-CIF, nine Highlanders



By Bill Dickens
© East County Sports.com

EL CAJON (12-12-15) — An amazing 15 East County football players were named to the 2015 All-San Diego Section CIF Breitbard Media team.

Nine of those picks came from state semifinalist Helix.

Granite Hills also had two selections, while Grossmont, Christian, Santana and Valhalla each had one.

Much like the Highlanders’ dominating record of 11-2 overall, Helix running back NATE STINSON was tabbed as the Offensive Player of the Year.

The county Defensive Player of the Year award went to the Highlanders’ EZEKIAL NOA.

Stinson has been a record-breaker on almost every hand-off he’s taken, including 35 rushing touchdowns.

Noa, who still has a year to add to his totals, was an unblockable linebacker who averaged better than 10 tackles per game.

The list of scholarships is almost endless among this group.

Granite Hills is the only other team which was recognized for more than one athlete, and both were on second team. They are defensive lineman JACOB BURTON, ticketed for Arizona, and linebacker RILEY REYES.


(East County Teams In Bold)

First Team Offense
QB  MICHAEL AUSTIN    Helix             Sr.
QB  Lucas Johnson       Mt. Carmel          Sr.
QB  Takoda Browne       Kearny              Sr.
RB  NATE STINSON      Helix               Sr.
RB  Greg Bell           Bonita Vista        Sr.
RB  Elijah Preston      St. Augustine       Sr.
RB  C.J. Verdell        Mater Dei Catholic  Jr.
RB  Nehemiah McFarlin   Mission Hills       Sr.
WR  Terrell Burgess     San Marcos          Sr.
WR  KHALEED DAVIS     Grossmont         Sr.
OL  Michael Alves       St. Augustine       Sr.
OL  BLAYKE DE LA ROSA  Helix            Jr.
OL  David Viena-Falo    Madison             Sr.
OL  Zach Thomas         Carlsbad            Sr.
OL  Graham Valentine    San Marcos          Jr.

Second Team Offense
QB  Bryson Bolin        San Marcos          Jr.
QB  Rodney Thompson     St. Augustine       Jr.
QB  Terrell Carter      Madison             Jr.
RB  Erick Buchanan      Madison             Jr.
RB  Milan Grice         Rancho Bernardo     Jr.
RB  Derrick Clark       Mission Bay         Jr.
WR  Rasheed Shaheed     Mt. Carmel          Sr.
WR  NICK SEXTON       Christian         Sr.
WR  MEHKI STEVENSON   Helix             Sr.
WR  Mozes Mooney        Bishop’s            So.
OL  Michael Liuchan     Mission Hills       Sr.
OL  JAKE KITTEN       Santana           Sr.
OL  J.B. Hunter         Oceanside           Sr.
OL  Jojo Falo           Madison             Jr.
OL  Kaydence Jackson    Mission Bay         Jr.
Offensive Player of the Year: NATE STINSON, Helix
Defensive Player of the Year: EZEKIAL NOA, Helix
Kicker of the Year: MATT ARAIZA, Rancho Bernardo
Coach of the Year: CHRIS THOMPSON, Bonita Vista
First Team Defense
DL  Nate Sweat          Eastlake            Sr.
DL  Nick Zimmerman      Oceanside           Sr.
DL  DANIEL BENDER     Valhalla          Sr.
DL  FORREST HANLON    Helix             Sr.
LB  ZEKE NOA          Helix             Jr.
LB  JIHAD WOODS       Helix             Sr.
LB  Troy Cassidy        Carlsbad            Sr.
LB  Sampson Niu         Madison             Jr.
LB  Justus Te’I         Mission Hills       Sr.
LB  Niko Mageo          Oceanside           Sr.
LB  Tyson Maeva         Cathedral Catholic  Sr.
DB  Troy Warner         Mission Hills       Sr.
DB  La’Tre Jacquess     Lincoln             Sr.
DB  Atoa Fox            Bonita Vista        Sr.
DB  SCOTTIE YOUNG     Helix             Jr.

Second Team Defense
DL  Moli Faalago        Bonita Vista        Sr.
DL  JACOB BURTON      Granite Hills     Sr.
DL  Eligha Lewis        Mission Bay         Sr.
DL  Joah Robinette      San Marcos          Sr.
DL  SEFA TAUANU’U     Helix             Sr.
DL  Mithell Lindgren    Rancho Bernardo     Sr.
LB  Devin Dunn          Rancho Bernardo     Sr.
LB  Grant Luthenberg    University City     Sr.
LB  Francoise Sims      St. Augustine       Sr.
LB  RILEY REYES       Granite Hills     Sr.
DB  Ethan Williams      Bonita Vista        Sr.
DB  Tariq Thompson      St. Augustine       Jr.
DB  Caleb Johnson       Point Loma          Sr.
DB  Will Stricklin      Mission Hills       Sr.
DB  Adrian Rodriguez    Otay Ranch          Sr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *